Stump Table aka Swamp Art

As ya’ll know, awhile back I finished a free-form Walnut slab. The big question – now what? I couldn’t see putting a plain, tapered leg under this beautiful piece of wood, so I got me an idea… a tree stump coffee table! The “powers that be” (aka the girls) didn’t like the idea of a single stump in the middle, so I thought about it some and decided that two stumps would be even better, joined together by a branch. So I glued a BUNCH of scraps together…literally , just junk. In retrospect I could have used some cheap “Tuba fores” and it would have been easier, but this worked, there is maple , cherry, yellow pine and poplar all glued together .Then using a “Lancelot” and” Holy Gallad” I went to sculpting. The inspiration for the stump was the bald cypress one finds in the swamps of south eastern US, I have fished around  many a one.

I used a light brown dye that closely matched the walnut slab and just lightly sprayed very light coats so as to create the shadows, and then topcoated, and a little glaze and another top coat. I did sand the stump as best I could to “sorta” smooth out the sharp facets, and give it a decent feel when finished .
This was fun project and everyone who has seen it, really liked it. Got some “substantial” offers for it, but it was claimed by camera girl early on , but can definitely make more.
This is just an example of getting a little creative and having some fun , try one you will enjoy.

Be safe and get creative

IMAG2105

IMAG2103

IMAG2106

IMAG2107

IMAG2108

… started power carving, rounding the hard edges with an orbital sander…

IMAG2113

IMAG2114

IMAG2116

…and mortise & tenoned the branch in the bottom as well as under the tabletop for support…

IMAG2126

IMAG2127

IMAG2125

IMAG2126 (1)

IMAG2127

IMAG2129

IMAG2150

…much sawdust later, I finished the stumps by spraying, hitting heavier in some areas and lighter in some to give it a more natural look. The bird’s nest underneath added character and something a bit whimsical…

DSC06724

DSC06726

DSC06718

…and CameraGirl brought her truck today to be able to take it home. Hopefully she’ll get us some photos of it in her house.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stump Table aka Swamp Art

  1. Thomas Tieffenbacher says:

    Charles,

    As always, a great piece! I like the laminated build up.

    Tom/akaDocSavage45

  2. Steve Langton says:

    Mighty fine Charles. Lot’s of hard work

  3. Stumpy Nubs says:

    There’s nothing like a good stump!

  4. captferd says:

    Beautiful. Wish I had a fraction of your talent.

  5. Bill White says:

    Mr. Neil, you’re scarin’ me ’cause you might be learnin’ sompin’ from the Stumpster. 🙂
    As always, very well done.
    Bill

  6. Stumpy Nubs says:

    I don’t know what looks better, the project, or the row of routers on the shelf in the background! Do you have one for each bit?

  7. Dezri Dean says:

    What a sneaky little bugger you are! 😀

  8. Joe Lyddon says:

    Cool Stumpy table!
    It really looks like it FUN to make too… No errors possible… just Happy accidents!
    Make a bad slip… roll with the punches & turn it into something else!
    … a real FUN way to do it!

    Thank you for working Outside the Box… (for a little change)
    I like all of the ways you think about this stuff…

  9. John Ormsby says:

    Well that is one heck of a nice table Charles !!!! I didn’t know you had it in you.
    I know what is going to happen with some of the scraps I have sitting around.
    You are a Great Inspiration Charles.
    Thanks for sharing.

  10. Jim Pell says:

    Pictures can’t do this object justice…It was drop dead gorgeous. To watch Charles take glued blocks of wood and create this beautiful table was a marvel.

Leave a comment