Aqua Coat Grain Filler … It’s A Keeper

I f you have ever tried to finish African mahogany or even the genuine stuff, or an oak, or any open pore wood you know the value of a grain filler, but typically they impart a color , or are slow to dry and just often times a general mess, especially if you want to go natural, but yet get a glass smooth finish, it has been quite difficult.

On open pore woods, it has been the practice of most, myself included, to utilize excessive coats of finish , and sand them back to fill grain, which is expensive and labor intense, as well , we are pushing the boundaries of  acceptable film thickness.

Oak is too open pore for even the heavy finish thing, so it was typical to use a wood filler  to fill the grain and while products like Timbermate filler, thinned down to make a grain filler, worked very well, we still had the issue of adding color to the wood, while this often was a desirable thing, if you wanted to go natural, you could use a filler as close to the color of the wood as possible and “deal with it”,  I have tried the oil based products and found dry times, excessive, as well as they tended to seal the wood so stains and so forth could become issues , but yesterday  I gave the water base  Aqua Coat a try, and to say I was impressed is an understatement,  so thought I would tell you about it.

I got a piece of red oak, and some African Mahogany,  I applied one coat, it had a slight cream color to it, but dried in about 45 min to an hour, to totally clear,  I then sanded it with some 180,  on the oak I wiped some water base stain, and the color between the filled and unfilled sections was identical,   on the mahogany, I sanded it, and sprayed a coat of  water-bourne finish in it,, it was smooth as silk,  I actually did this, while I was filming this weeks show, so you will see the results tonight, but it worked extremely well, it sure cures alot of ill’s,  now for those who like to use colored fillers to accent grain, no issue, I can tint it, or color as I wish using a number of medium’s which I will get into later, but all I can say is for me it sure is a welcome product.

check it out http://www.thefinishingstore.com/products/AquaCoat-Premium-Water%252dBased-Clear-Grain-Filler.html

catch ya later

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aqua Coat Grain Filler … It’s A Keeper

  1. Rob says:

    Do you apply it like a normal grain filler or Timbermate. I see the lable I suggests spraying.

  2. you can spray it, but Just used a spreader, but then tried brushing it with a foam brush, then a rag, did well, I find that a foam brush does well, i like the mechanical push into the grain, but apraying did nice also., so its pretty versitile

  3. Max Harbaugh says:

    Can this filler be covered with shelac?

  4. Tim says:

    I am just getting started in the finishing arena after having avoided it like the plague for years. I am making some small boxes, curly maple tops and black walnut sides. I watched a hundred videos looking for specific finishing steps that included specific products – rookies like me want details. I saw your make it pop video and used those steps for the tops and then I found homesteads Early American Maple example and used those steps. Stain, Oil, Seal – Shellac, Glaze – which i Skipped, Topcoat – ArmASeal/SealACell and finally wax. The top looks great but the walnut sides are not smooth to the touch, I can see and feel the open grain. Seems like a wood filler would be great, but I have never used one. I went to the Aqua site to find how and when in the finishing process you use it but no luck. Could you say a few more words about when in the process you apply filler? In my above steps would I put it on after Stain, Oil and before Shellac?
    Thanks,
    Tim

  5. Pingback: Why fill in wood grain? | Aqua Coat

Leave a comment