Whew …Books, Videos , Shows .. Been Busy

We are finally thawing out, unlike a lot of other folks. Spring can’t come too soon.. Not sure about you but this has been an unusually tough winter .  One for the record books in many places.

In spite of the weather , we have managed to stay quite busy , as most know, we finally got our Finishing book done , and have been working on a new  “recipe”  book of  the colors that we have used for years, I also think it will help folks be able to “make up ‘ and match other colors. I decided to add a chapter on this to help folks, I get a lot of “color” questions. The book uses 3 different  dyes,  TransTint , W.D. Lockwood (metal complex) and General Finish . We chose these dyes because of quality, availability and ease of use.  They are all water base, our favorite. I love the way a water base colorant, especially a dye, allows me so much flexibility and the clean crisp colors.  Check out the book at https://charlesneilwoodworking.3dcartstores.com/Charles-Neils-Custom-Colorsthe-Recipes_p_257.html  . I elected to do the book simply because of all the requests and all the color issue emails  I get .

I am doing another DVD, I actually had not planned any more DVD’s, felt like we had pretty much covered the spectrum.  Like the recipe book, what prompted this was the emails asking, “exactly how do you do it ?” If you would like to pre-order this DVD, you can do so by visiting this link to our on-line store, https://charlesneilwoodworking.3dcartstores.com/WoodworkingSimply-Put_p_273.html  The book will ship around April 15th.

When I did all the DVD’s I tried to be as all inclusive as I could, as we all know there is more than one way to “skin a cat”, so we tried to address as many different ways as we could . The new DVD is NOT that, its just the opposite, It’s how I do it, have done it and will continue to do it. While I can build a case in numerous different ways, as well as a door, or drawer, In reality I do them, basically the same every time, because it  always works, so based on the emails, I decided to put it all in one place.

We have also elected to offer a lot of classes in 2014. We had decided to NOT do any more in house classes, just because of space. It was very difficult. We are looking to  move into a new facility soon, hopefully by the end of March, there were issues  with the title and so forth which delayed us about 2 months, but hopefully it will all be resolved quickly.  There are still a few spots left in most of the classes.

To take a look at the class schedule, use the following link:   https://charlesneilwoodworking.3dcartstores.com/In-House-Classes_c_21.html

The new property allows us much more and much better space. A place for a nice class room and so forth, so we are excited about that .

I have gotten a lot of  emails as well from folks who are “waiting on spring” to be able to finish their winter projects, I understand that .

So we’ve been writing, filming, building, finishing and just staying the course, and will continue. I am testing out some new finishes and have some cool projects forth coming.

That’s what we’ve been up to, how about you?  Anybody do any woodworking over the winter,?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Whew …Books, Videos , Shows .. Been Busy

  1. John Leonick says:

    My latest winter woodworking project has been – cutting it, splitting it, and hauling out the ashes!

  2. vwturtle13 says:

    Not much woodworking here, just a lot of shoveling. Definitely can’t wait for spring to arrive. Congratulations on the new shop. I am sure you will make great use of the extra space. Looking forward to the new book and DVD. Thanks again for everything you do.
    Bob Maloney

  3. Mike Kratky says:

    Looking forwarding to coming down in April for the Keeping Chest class at the new shop, not that there’s nothing wrong with the current shop it’s 4 X bigger than mine. Have been doing a lot of turning, its been too cold and snowy to bring in any lumber for flat boarding. Does that new recipe book have Southern style pancake mix in it to go with the New England maple finish?

  4. Paul Jerome says:

    I have a basement shop so…lots of woodworking. Finished a hall table, tiger maple box and am currently working on a stand up jewelry chest with lots of dovetails.all hand cut. Also, starting bathroom cabinets.

  5. Thomas Tieffenbacher/aka DocSavage45 says:

    Charles,
    Finally got my shop tools out of the box and built after they depreciated in the box! LOL! Got a 3 HP cabinet saw and refurbished it. Made my own dust collector and a D Handle router jig. I’ve posted my blog on LJ’s.

    Working right now on opening a little office in the town I live in as I was asked by some former clients. So I Made my own sign ( no money) and I am rehabbing and refurbishing furniture. I have heat in my little barn/studio/shop that I installed, but it’s pretty expensive to leave the heat up when it’s cold. So far I’ve rehabbed a sofa frame for the office, and I am busy making mistakes on an art deco desk and chair that I found awhile back. It’s production furniture built with old woodscrews and dowels. The IKEA Furniture of the 30’s and 40’s LOL! ( crap) After I get the chair and desk out of my shop I have to finish installing my dust collection as I found out how fine dust from 220 sanding gets into EVERYTHING!

    The “Chairs Video” was helpful.

    Thanks for all the help!

    Tom

Leave a Reply

