My Boxes Finished

Well almost, finished,  working between other projects, I managed to get 3 of the six totally done, and by days end hopefully the other 3 will be complete, but thought I would show you what I came up with,  what appears as light cherry is Bubinga, on tiger maple, walnut on tiger, dyed cherry on tiger, and of course tiger on dyed cherry,, I don’t have a favorite,  and personally like them all,  but thought you would like a look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now as if I havent done enough of them  ( 6) , In talking to Bob Kloes he told me he had some birdseye,but not alot, so I was glad to get it, and not sure he has more but Birdseye maple is one of my favorite woods, so I thought , why not, so I got some,  and had him run it to shape thru his molder, figured it would save a lot of time so he did, Ed saw the wood and was excited,  first thing out if his, mouth was,  ”  D*** !, why didn’t you get these before we had to sand, our  *&^^%  guts out on the others, ” !, Ed has such a mild subtle way of putting things, : )

Ed has a point, the premade blanks are much easier to sand and finish, they are very nice indeed,  but now I got to fit some more boxes, into the mix, but no issue, we can handle this, got a little practice in on them so it’s a  “no brainer”, so we will get them done.

Bob also sent out an email that he is going to be selling smaller wood bundles for those who would like ,  this is a good thing, and incase you havent discovered, having some one willing to sell smaller bundles  ( 20 bf and up) , of high quality figured woods is hard to do, and be willing to plane and surface , most just wont fool with the smaller orders, I had ask Bob to do this, because of all the emails I get, so I hope you support Bob in this, I can tell you now, from the pricing, it isn’t a big money-maker,  so if ya need wood  check Bob out, email him   Bob@Bobkloes.com  and his website is  www.Bobkloes.com

It looks like this will be the first year I can remember that im not slamming day and night to get projects done for the holidays,  it feels good, make no mistake, I have plenty of work to do, but just not pushed , a real treat for a change.

We have also tossed around the idea, of doing a sort of chat or interview with me, where I sit down with Crystal and a camera and answer your questions, haven’t decided if it would be something folks would like to do, but still thinking on it, your opinion would be nice to hear.

Well guess those projects and boxes are not going to finish them selves, so best get to it, be safe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Boxes Finished

  1. Stumpy Nubs says:

    I finished mine. I used a contrasting combo of MDF sides and OSB top. The dye went on really nice…

  2. Stumpy Nubs says:

    It didn’t happen…. But it sure would look nice! 🙂

  3. Ben says:

    Looking good. I admit I had some trouble getting through show #4 on the box – I kept getting distracted studying that Maloof rocker in the background! There’s a chair making DVD set you can put my name on the waiting list for (hint hint)…

  4. Charles,

    Masterfully done by the master woodworker( finisher). I’m all for your doing an interview format. Maybe by an experienced or novice woodworker with good on camera skills? I’ve seen some good interviews wit Maloof, and Krenov, they are kind of a legacy.

    Maybe you can do a woodworking class on the box sice Bob has the materials packaged?

    Got to get back to work. Snap! it’s that money whip a crackin. ( or lack of money 🙂 )

    Meryy Christmas

    Tom/AKA? DocSavage45

  5. Rich says:

    Do the interview Charles.
    Would be interesting to meet everyone involved, including Sherri.
    Rich.

  6. Just ordered the Bombe Box Wounded Warrior project DVD.

    Merry Christmas.

    DocSavage45

  7. Stumpy Nubs says:

    Thanks for the shout-out in the last video. You made me famous! 🙂

  8. Stumpy, That’s is infamous? LOL 🙂

  9. don says:

    It never ceases to amaze me how things turn out; weird twists and turns, people butting heads then becoming friends! The Wounded Warrier Bombe Box is THE perfect example. Whoda thunk!(Southern? Or maybe five beer Western…) Man, this has taken on a life of it’s own! It’s obvious that you’re having a good time in the videos, those small boxes are a lot lighter to move around than say, the secretary… 🙂

    Great job all!!!

    don

  10. Leonard Beasley says:

    I think the interview is a good idea. Several questions come to mind that are not related to any of the projects we’ve done so far.

Leave a Reply

