I See The Light

For the first time in 30 some odd years, I am coming to a point where I can see the light at the end of the tunnel,  meaning, client projects will be caught up, DVD’s will be done, and things take a change, My only commitment will be the show!

     Someone once said, ” I was too busy to make a living”, perhaps that’s correct, and I sure plan to test the theory, I have 2 other DVD’s I want to do, perhaps three, but before I do anything, I plan on finishing my finishing book, been working on it as I could, and I really want to finish it up, but life has just been too busy, time demands and so forth, but by mid July, all that changes, might even do some fishing, sounds good to me .

       Guess what im telling you is im calming it down, been on a flat run for more years than I can remember,  feel it from time to time, as well, not to say I wont be quite busy, but it will be on my schedule and my timing, might do a class or two, but not alot, and will still be taking on SOME client projects, but not to the extent I have had to, feel sure this will impact income alot, but sometimes you just have to step back and reevaluate  where you’re at in life and whats important, now its my turn , something, that i just never had the luxury of doing.

    I get emails about how many different aspects of woodworking I am capable of, what folks don’t understand is necessity is the dominate teacher, having to do it to make a living is far different from wanting to do it, and there has sure been alot of that, taking things on because you have to, then sweating bullets trying to figure out how to do it, and no books or internet for a guide, you have to get a bit creative, while one may consider it challenging, when your living depends on it, I saw it different, frustrating at times, rewarding at the end  and alot of other definitions in between. but we survived it, and learned a lot along the way,and not that we haven’t used the knowledge for not only our advantage, and to help others ,because we have, but now its time, to really utilize it, for our future. All of that said, I have to admit, I am a bit nervous,  but then again to be able to set here today and work on my book would be a welcome thing, but that’s not possible, got to finish tables, cases, get some filming done, tomorrow got to go get some more material, and get all I have going out the door, next week we prep for the rocker class, and the week after we have the class and one more finishing class, and then wrap up a few more projects and my bench is empty…. nervous or not, I am excited,  and the chips will fall where they may,,,

   One thing is a fact, when you have to make decisions like this, it isn’t easy, but then again, you have a 50% chance of being right,  🙂 so time will tell .

      Ok got to get to work and get the bench cleared , late y’all

PS , sorry for the ramble !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I See The Light

  1. Ben says:

    Good for you! I think that’s the goal we’re all chasing – to be able to do just what we choose to do. Worst case, you can always crank it back up, so you have a pretty good safety net, I’d think.

  2. Bob Revell says:

    Charles,
    I believe you are a high-energy, professional craftsman that still finds time to share your knowledge and skills with others. And not being afraid to experiment has opened many doors for your future. Glad to hear you are taking some time to think ahead about how you will be spending your coming years with family, friends and clients. Don’t worry about “retirement”…I can tell you everyday seems like
    Saturday !
    Looking forward to the book.

  3. Good for you! When you lost a finger you said “No more deadlines” Sounds like you are listening to that inner voice. I appears to me that you have done what you set out to do. Slowing down is a good thing because our bodys make that happen.

    You set out to teach people what you have learned, and you continue to do that. Money is always a factor but you have figured that out. LOL And “life happens” so we need to be prepared.

    I am looking forward to your next event. 🙂

    Hope the book has lots of pictures!

    Tom

  4. Ron Allison says:

    Charles – Wishing you the best in slowing down in the next few months. I remember asking when I first met you, how many employees you had because I couldn’t see how you could do all that you do by yourself.

    I’m looking forward to that ‘Finishing Book’.

    Ron

  5. Kenny says:

    I wish you all the best in this next adventure of life you are about to take on. I think with the determination you have, you will have success at whatever you choose to do, whatever that may be.
    And as others have stated, I think your reputation as a master craftsman, as well as the desire for “Charles Neil Furniture”, will provide you enough of a safety net, should it prove you need to push the work out again. Although I think that would happen from you being bored and restless more than anything else, as many who have been on a dead run for a lifetime have trouble slowing down to a walk, or even a jog.

    Whatever you do, I think you’ll do alright. As well, you have a ton of people on here that will give you all the support you need, should you need it.

    Good Luck Buddy!
    Kenny

Leave a Reply

