Groceries in the Dirt!

Well, I’ve been slacking on this blog, been slamming on some projects I need done and trying to get my garden panted. Finally got some stuff in the dirt. Onions, beets, cabbage, broccoli, brussel sprouts, turnips and radishes. I was trying to get more, but the rain came. Strawberries are looking good as well.

Now, running the tillers, bending a lot, stretching all those parts of the body that haven’t been stretched in a while reminds me I’m getting a little older. Planting all those little beet, turnip and radish seeds, well, let’s just say those tiny little seeds required some sowing instead of placing and there was some crawling involved! I’ve been thinking, they make seed tape for the super small seeds, why couldn’t you use some cheap, easily degradable masking tape to hold the seeds and simply lay in the shall row and cover, might try that but now I’ve got some wood stuff to do so we’ll be getting back in the groove.

This coming weekend (Saturday) I will be doing a talk in Springfield, VA which is part of the DC Metro area. If I get a chance, I’ll say hello to President Obama for everyone! I’ll be talking to the Virginia Chapter of the Society of American Period Furniture Makers. One of my topics will be that the old guys used the best they had but it doesn’t mean it’s the best, especially now days, and that’s a fact. It will be interesting to see if this group is receptive of my thoughts on finishing. Oh well.

Out to the shop, catch ya later!

The April Newsletter has been sent and is also available from the web site if you aren’t a subscriber and just stop by now and then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Groceries in the Dirt!

  1. Denis Rezendes says:

    sounds good. its so true that those old guys used the best they had. i mean if they used the best stuff why would we have some stuff we had today. if moulding planes were the best why did everyone run out and get routers. even the old pros who used moulding planes thier whole lives. its just simple logic.

  2. Newton Eunice,DVM says:

    I understan your desire to plant. Just watching them come up is amazing. About dropping the small seed when I had problems benting or crawling I used a 1″ PVC pipe and dropped them through it didn’t have to bend over or worry about wind. As for your talks it just wish my Dad had had the tools I have it may not better or not but it sure does make life easies. Have a good week. docnewt

Leave a Reply

