Rosette Carving


Yesterday I spent a good deal of time messing with my rosette carving.   I wanted something unique, I was leaning toward a floral which is what I ended up with.   I wanted something I could show how to carve without a ton of chisels.   I was also looking for something a beginner could lay out and could be done by a beginning carver.   Typically in a floral, there is a lot of

I used some dye to accent for the photo

I used some dye to accent for the photo


emphasis placed on the pedals,  I didnt want this to be super busy and I wanted the pedals to be distinct and in the forefront.  I played with keeping the pedals smooth to match the overall theme of this piece where there are a lot of flat smooth surfaces.  Here is what I came up with.  

It’s a very simple turning to get the face shape and then do the carving. I will do a little video on carving this as soon as our new player is up. Here is the thing I want you to get….this is not difficult.

Sometimes my workbench is a little messy when working something out.

Sometimes my workbench is a little messy when working something out.


Takes a little practice, but  it really isnt hard, I surely didn’t get it on my first try. I had several blanks turned to play with and went through different chisels to get the pedal size and things like that,. I promise you can do it. One place I cheated was that I used a dremel to “stipple” the center and back ground of the outer edges. I think this will look very nice on this highboy.

I know that this highboy with all the trimmings is something a lot of you wouldn’t take on, but perhaps its something you would like to be able to do, that’s why we are here, and that’s why we put all this up. Let’s consider it a goal and from the bottom of my heart, I promise you will be able to do it.

The beginning of February, when our players and new web site are up, we will begin a journey from the very basics to the higher end stuff. I really want to focus a lot on the new folks and the youth, someone has to. With noted exception to the internet, there is virtually nothing, so I guess it’s up to us. I’m  going to do it and I would hope that all of you guys who have been at this for years, there are alot of you, will join me, I’m counting on you and so are they.

It’s Saturday and I hope you find some time to get into your shop and get a saw dust fix….it will make your whole week better….  Later Ya’ll

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rosette Carving

  1. Ace HoleInOne says:

    Wow…!!! that is just beautiful. I’m willing to give it a crack! I don’t have any clue as to what carving tools would be need, some advice on tools to have ready would be appreciated 🙂

    -Ace-

  2. Mike says:

    Very nice job on the carving can’t wait for the video.
    Glad to see you didn’t pull out all your tools 🙂

  3. intheworkshop says:

    thanks all, but a compliment on carving from mike is pretty nice, and mike as to the tools…what can i say..i been at this awhile …hey mike you gonna help me do a carving video..Ill buy breakfast

  4. Mike says:

    Sounds good… more grits 🙂

  5. intheworkshop says:

    but of course…grits and more grits…makes you good looking and smart…dont you agree ? 🙂 🙂

  6. Denis Rezendes says:

    thats a nice carving! i love the sort of double pedal. really looks nice. and i have the same problem as ace. i want to get into carving i just don’t know where to start and don’t have the money to go order the whole catalog. just don’t know where to start.

  7. Norman Reid says:

    Thanks for the focus on beginners. I’m a beginner, have set up a shop and am building jigs right now. But I’m going to want to tackle some furniture before long and aside from books and the Internet (and Woodcraft classes) I don’t have many resources. I love your videos and look forward to their return.

  8. Julius says:

    Thanks for sharing, really inspiring. Just one question, should it not read PETAL and not PEDAL ??

    I love your videos, please keep thegood work!

  9. intheworkshop says:

    Julius…yes you are correct….guess I shouldn’t have slept in class, thanks

  10. Julius says:

    Nevermind, I figure that both sounds the very same in good ol´English.

    Saudações from Brazil!!

Leave a Reply

