October 16, 2008

THIS WEEKS CONTEST – OCTOBER 13 TO OCTOBER 19, 2008
Win a WoodRiver 8 pc. Bench Chisel Set!
signed by Charles Neil

Join in celebrating Woodcraft’s 80th Anniversary. WoodRiver, only at Woodcraft. Another great sponsor of our On-Line Video Projects. This week we are giving away a WoodRiver 8-pc. Bench Chisel Set. Click on the Photo on the left for more details.

Here’s how to enter:

1. Visit Woodcraft and find out where and when Woodcraft was founded.

2. Visit our Forum and post your answer. (Note: You must be registered on the forum to post)

3. We’ll announce the winner next Monday, October 20, 2008.


Well, gonna quit making fun of the economy and politicians, neither need my help. I watched the debates, now I’m wondering what for.


Rough End Grain

Rough End Grain


Got some pictures of the walnut bases. This walnut was a little coarse so end grain was kind of rough. So…rather than shellac, I thinned down some Timbermate to about like mayonnaise, used a glue brush and did a grain fill on the end grain. Did really well.
Timbermate thinned to Mayonnaise Consistancy

Timbermate thinned to Mayonnaise Consistancy


Grain Filled Edge

Grain Filled Edge

Stack of Walnut Layers

Stack of Walnut Layers

Sanded Edge

Sanded Edge


Sherri is mapping out a “whirlwind” tour of the North East Woodcaft Stores. We’re just gonna stop by and say hello. Try to promote our DVDs and move on. Perhaps we can get them out of the “Just Another DVD” status. May work, may not…but doing nothing and hoping someone trips across them on the internet just isn’t working. So…right or wrong, need to get them moving.

I’m not a sit on my butt and do nothing sort and I don’t depend on others, so gonna do it. I got a ton to get done in the mean-time. Sherri will post our schedule as soon as we have it.


A lot of you have emailed me about how to get “Work” and how to price it. That’s a tough question but I can tell you how and what has worked for me. I’m gonna write it, I did some in the May Newsletter but I’m going to do it in article form and email it. If you want a copy, drop me a line, will probably take a few days or so before its ready.


The Router DVD, the equipment is coming in and we will be getting them out. I have to re-film one more time, some stuff, because after we completed it, we got some “new things” that we might as well get in there. This is just another example of if ya want something done, do it yourself. I will never trust my DVDs to anyone other than ourselves. These idiots messed up our stuff and couldn’t care less, and the excuses, this put us in a bad light and I’m furious. So, in the next three weeks, they will be out, maybe sooner and I will never do a pre-release again, it will be done and ready to ship.


I believe we have the best instructional videos out there and that’s based on you, so it’s time to get real serious with them, this trying to juggle videos and woodworking is getting a bit overwhelming, so they sell and get moving better or we stop doing them. They have done well, but we need to reach the non-internet crowd, it’s a huge market, thus the little tour, to see if it will impact. We shall see, but we got too much invested now for it not to be a serious entity.


Now, I have about six on the back burner, but I got to get the Router over and done first. Ya know, I’ve been doing this wood/finishing thing all my life and if I leave this world having uncomplicated it, I will have served my purpose, way too many think way too highly of themselves and seem to think that if they present things in a complicated manner, it makes them look smarter, it certainly doesn’t work for me.

Catch Ya Later!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to October 16, 2008

  1. Denis Rezendes says:

    well i hope that the north eastern tour goes good ;). i agree that your videos are some of the best if not the best out there and i would hate to see them go away. i like using the timbermate on the edge grain. i just ordered some timbermate from woodcraft a long with a ton of other things and for filling chips would you suggest tinting the dye to the natural walnut and then dying it or putting it in neutral and dying it afterwards the color you are dying the entire thing. thanks.

  2. intheworkshop says:

    Use the filler for the wood you are using or as close as you can get…it dyes and stains very well…so just treat it like it was the natural wood…

  3. Ben Birdsill says:

    I ordered some Timbermate from Woodcraft last summer, and all they carried was the natural/tint base only. I’ve played around trying to color it a little, but starting out with something not white would seem easier. I just checked, and they still only stock the natural. Maybe you can suggest they stock the colors?

  4. Denis Rezendes says:

    i think you can order the colors from timbermate themselves. woodcraft does only stock the natural right now.

  5. bruce thom says:

    I like your smart tails but find your pdf files eliminated
    are they available or discontinued?
    a fellow LJ..

Leave a Reply

