October 7, 2008


Ooops!  Didnt mean to spill it!

Ooops! Didn't mean to spill it!

Like I told ya yesterday, when I got back from my weekend trip I had a real surprise waiting for me. Ken – an active forum member, has been working on these puzzle cubes. Kind of like a Rubik’s Cube….but not!

Well, bless his heart, he sent me one. These are really cool and extremely challenging to make. I can truly see how hard these can be, but I have to confess, I had to get my 13-year old grandson to help me get it back together.

Ken, ya did a great job and now not only do I have to figure out how to make them easier, I have to figure out the puzzle first. LOL! All those little squares that have to come together perfectly, I can hear rusty gears and clanking in my head. That’s probably a good thing as long as I don’t strip one of those gears. Thanks Ken….I think. If any of you are familiar with puzzle cubes, we have had a great discussion going on at the forum, Click Here to go directly to the thread.


THIS WEEKS CONTEST – OCTOBER 6 TO OCTOBER 12, 2008
Win a Drill Doctor 500X!

Drill Doctor - Model DD500X

Drill Doctor - Model 500X

We are proud that Professional Tool Mfg. is one of our On-Line Project Video Sponsors. Manufacturers of the Drill Doctor and the Worksharp and proud to be Made in the U.S.A. This week’s prize, compliments of Professional Tool Mfg. is a Drill Doctor, Model 500X. Click on the photo to the left to learn more about this great product.

Here’s how to enter:

1. Visit Drill Doctor or Worksharp and find out Where in the US they are made.

2. Visit our Forum and post your answer. (Note: You must be registered on the forum to post)

3. We’ll announce the winner next Monday, October 12, 2008.


Glue Joint - Biscuits

Glue Joint - Biscuits

Okay, let’s look at the original Bubinga slab. First, I’m not sure what glue was used. Looks like old hide glue, but whatever it was…it didn’t hold…even with biscuits. When we arrived, both pieces were cupped within themselves and we only had to pull the short piece off. Secondly, the bottom side was never

Bottom Unfinished

Bottom Unfinished

finished, so it swelled and the top, having finish, shrank, or better put, didn’t swell at the same rate. The top appears to be oil and maybe some varnish. Oil will cup wood, don’t care what anyone says. Seen it happen too many times. The oil soaks in, then as it dries, it shrinks. So please do both sides. Wood has to be balanced…its just a fact. If not, it is going to move

Appears to be Oil/Varnish Finish

Appears to be Oil/Varnish Finish

adversely and this Bubinga slab is a perfect example.

So, if seeing is believing, take a look. It looks like the bottom had some finish applied at some point after it was installed because there is none where it sat on the cabinet base. The finish on the bottom appears to be a water base (not oil/varnish like the top).

So…how do I fix this?

First, let me tell you this Bubinga is super wonderful, the figure is fantastic. Costs about $50/bf so saving this material is a must. Now…if I absolutely had to, I could do the spline thing, but I’m going to do

Removing Finish by Scraping

Removing Finish by Scraping

something different. I’m going to scrape the finish off, which isn’t hard, it’s rolling right off. My finger nail will scratch it. Oil on a very hard and dense wood doesn’t penetrate very well and adhesion is questionable, same as glue. When I did the new one, I used a spline and polyurethane glue.

Once the finish is removed, I’m going to wet the cupped face (concave side) then get some air moving over the bottom (the convex side). I might even put it in the sun with the convex side up. The object is to get moisture in the concave side and pull it out of the convex side to a point of balance.

Full Length look at the Bottom (Convex)

Full Length look at the Bottom (Convex)

We’ll see how well I do, it is actually better now than when we removed it because we turned the convex side up and left it exposed on the trip back so it got some sun and wind.

Top Side Cup (concave)

Top Side Cup (concave)


Claro Walnut Slabs - Stickered with the Grain

Claro Walnut Slabs - Stickered with the Grain

Now, Norman had some claro walnut that was cut and stickered at another mill. They stickered it with the grain, not smart, take a look.

These slabs would have been gorgeous, but not now. Those clocks and hanging corner cupboards we’ve been talking about. I’m gonna cut these babies down and get some great material to use. Sad that is what has to happen, but otherwise, they are not very useful.

Claro Walnut Slab Face

Claro Walnut Slab Face

There are two that aren’t super bad, I may play with a bit. In my world, where I use a lot of highly figured wood, learning to deal with wood movement is a must and over the years, I’ve had to deal with some wild stuff.


Remember the box elder? It’s still soaking. I’ve just let it continue to soak until I could get back to it because I didn’t want it to dry out too fast. I want to rough turn it in a week or so. I’ll pull it out of the alcohol today and let it start drying.

We’ve added a few new videos so be sure to visit our Video Tips Page on our website and especially watch for the Video of the Day. Today’s video is from this weekend’s trip. I take you on a tour of Good Hope Hardwoodsin Landenberg, PA. A great specialty lumber mill.

Sherri’s waiting to roll the camera so I’ve gotta go.

Catch Ya Later!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to October 7, 2008

  1. You may of mentioned previously, approximately how long was the original bubinga slab in service? Curious as to how long it took to become a potato chip.

    -Ace-

  2. intheworkshop says:

    the owner stated it was about 5 months…bubinga is hard and dense..so it would have moved much slower and less than say cherry or walnut or oak…

  3. Ken Weinert says:

    A couple questions about the Good Hope video.

    Was that sawing on the horizontal bandsaw shown real time? Looks like it was, but that must be a hefty saw to run through the wood that fast. I wonder how often they change the blade.

    I was also curious what the capacity of that saw is, diameter and length.

    Thanks for the look inside. I know they consider themselves to be a small outfit, but I knew an older gentleman (Howard Hyndman) when I was growing up that had a very small sawmill – the saw was run off a belt and the motive power was an old tractor. It’s been years since I thought of him, thanks for the reminder.

  4. Denis Rezendes says:

    just going to watch some of the videos now. its amazing just how wood moves and how it took all of 5 months for it to go crazy like that! its sad what happened to the claro walnut slabs too. thats some beautiful wood and its a shame to see it in that condition. can’t wait to see what you do with it though!

  5. Ken Weinert says:

    He’s going to send it to me because little square cubes will work just fine 🙂

    No, not really – but watching the Good Hope video did give me a moment’s thought – how many Soma Cubes could be made from any *one* of the pieces of wood they have sitting there? Enough to keep me busy for a day or year, I’m sure.

  6. intheworkshop says:

    yes ken it was real time…not sure of the power , its hefty, blade changes vary with species..or nails…Thats their small mill…they have a huge one as well as a chainsaw mill..for the really huge stuff…and Denis i guarantee we will get some nice stuff out of the claro…and ken I will send you some cube material…
    I want to get some clocks and the hanging corner cabinet material out of this stock…none require really wide material and all this is about 5/.4 thick , so it will yield up alot of material.

Leave a Reply

