Friday, August 15, 2008

Okay, took a shower, shaved, all that stuff. Fixin‘ to film this little jointer thing and the table/chair leveling thing and I’m already running late. I’ve been out on our Forum this morning, Ace Hole in One has posted his finished dyed/stained poplar table and now it is ready to top coat. I really hope you are following this thread as it is a good learning experience and I hope you join in our forum and chime in. Remember, the only stupid question is the one you don’t ask.

I’ve been emailing with Kevin at Texas Timbers, he sent me some photos of “Box Elder” turning blanks, WOW, the choices, beautiful stuff.

Just got a call from Norman Hughes, my friend at Good Hope Hardwoods in Landenberg, PA. Wants me to come up and get a big bubinga slab and finish it for one of his customers. Sounds like a fun video. I’ve done several of these and a ton of slabs, it is hard work but it sure makes for some pretty stuff. Besides, it would be nice for you to see Norman’s operation and wood.

Talked with Bob Kloes, aka Big Bob on the forum, trying to convince him to work on some “wood bundles” for our folks. Tiger Maple, Birds Eye Maple, Curly Cherry, etc. Told you, he has some nice stuff.

While talking with Bob we were both talking about all the Sales going on in the tool world, it is definitely a buyer’s market, so if you are needing things, you may want to take a look around.

Hmmm, my hands are still green. Had a hail storm the other night and it did a number on my garden so I’ve been pruning plants in the evenings and the tomatoes turn my hands green…..gloves? hmmm, why didn’t I think of that.

Okay, need to go find a crooked board to show ya the jointer thing…..

Catch ya Later.

This entry was posted in Charles Neil Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday, August 15, 2008

  1. Denis says:

    cool. i think that it would be really cool if Mr. Kloes got up some wood bundles. even having some for certain projects like a curly maple quilt rack bundle. a big bubinga slab sounds cool too. I’d love to see one of those and see finishing one! thanks for the blog!

  2. Ace HoleInOne says:

    Having purchased wood from Bob, I can speak to the quality. Bob even has the special equipment to process figured wood. In case you don’t know, figured wood is very chip-out prone.

    Think about it, with Bob processing my boards, saves on me having to purchase the equipment for just a few projects a year. Besides, he knows what the hell he is doing and best of all you can trust him. I had perfectly smooth chip-out free boards.

    -Ace-

  3. Mitchell says:

    I bought a hunk of apple from Bob for a saw handle. The guys a pro, not to mention a hell of a nice person. Watched the video on jointers today. Many of my questions were answered but one – which part of the table gets the down force while feeding, the out or the in. Some say both, other references say one or the other. I think this is one of those – ask five guys a question and get six answers.

  4. Charles Neil says:

    Mitchell, good question..,in reality its a pressure TRANSFER thing..imagine your jointer as a see-saw..and the cutter head is the fulcrum ,when starting on the cut the hand pressure is on the INFEED (rear) then at the halfway point it transfers to the OUTFEED (front) .heavy pressure applied directly over the cutter head doesnt work ,especially on face jointing..where we are leveling and straightening a board with its face down ,alot of pressure will cause the board to be forced into the cutterhead, and while it may be jointed smooth it will not be straight..the board will “flex” ,keeping just enough pressure to move it across the blades is the key..and as shown in the video bringing the ends up to meet the middle is much easier,trying to remove a “bow” in the middle is hard..you have to “balance the board” at its “fattest” point and it leaves you no support on the ends..I also find it much more dangerous..nibbling the ends off ,always keeps the board supported ..much safer..

Leave a Reply

