Cherry Finish and More

Jeff Fleischer (chpcrvr) was over yesterday wrapping up his cherry bathroom project and he brought a copy of American Woodworker (Feb/March Issue), article by Tim Johnson.

There was an article in it on using gel finishes to color cherry. Now, because cherry likes to blotch and it almost always does, gels are super. Well, good gels any way. I am a big fan of Bartley Gels. I have been using them for 25 years and General Finishes has a good line of them as well.

Anyway, the guy said to use 2 coats of clear gel followed by two coats of “Candlelite” by General Finish. I tried it. Very nice indeed. I then tried Bartley “Warm Cherry” and “Georgian Cherry”. The Georgian was way to red so I mixed it with some warm cherry (center) but the “Warm Cherry” (left side) was almost a dead ringer for my own Gemini formula, the “Candlelite” was a little darker and a hint redder, but quite nice (right side).

Jeff’s drawer front is in the background as a comparison. Now, cherry will continue to darken on it’s own, but adding color helps to make the contrast from one board to the next uniform. I must say the gel on gel coloring worked extremely well and both the Bartley Warm Cherry as well as the General Finish Candelite were quite nice.


We got the settle table in the finish room, it’s made of pine so we started with a staining of General Finishes Cranberry Red Stain. This was the match for a sample they had, sort of becomes the base color. Now we will move on to more creative distressing and some finishing stuff. You know, glazes and all….to be continued.


Oh geez, gotta fill ya in here, it’s already started. That clean up thing. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful for the thorough cleaning and when done will be quite nice, but ya see this will present me a big problem….INVENTORY!

4 Hours Later - Right Side Cleaned - Left Side in Process

4 Hours Later - Right Side Cleaned - Left Side in Process

I ain’t talking the tax thing, where it is counted and numbers recorded. I’m talking, “Do you know how many rotuers, cans of dye, stain, router bits” all that stuff and what is amazing is that the list can be recited from memory for months to come. I mean there isn’t anything wrong with having a few extra odds and ends, now is there? I mean you can cook with one pot or one spoon, but having a few extra is a lot better, right? and besides, that router bit changing thing takes a lot of time, very counter productive. Then there is also the, “What’s this for? Why do you have 3 of these? What are you going to do with this?”

Somehow I don’t think this is a good idea, and I saved the best one for last, “Did you know you had this?

Oh Geez!

Catch ya later!

This entry was posted in Furniture Making, Woodworking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cherry Finish and More

  1. Ken Weinert says:

    I’m very familiar with that “recited from memory” part.

    You know, of course, the only correct answer to that last question is “of course I did”, otherwise she’ll start to understand why you have 3 or 4 of the same thing :)

  2. ken…why did ya have to go and say that….but of course you are correct :)

  3. chris says:

    I can’t believe you didn’t get blogjacked again :)

  4. Chris..me too…but she was in a hurry to get back to cleaning…now i got to go sort thru the trash cans…just cause a can isnt clean and pretty doesnt mean it isnt good stuff…know what i mean…

  5. Bop-bop says:

    Charles
    I have been in your shop many times, now tell me, do you have enough clamps?
    ha ha

  6. Bop-bop…there is no such thing as enough clamps…and no matter how many you have , you will never have the one you need..

  7. Bop-bop says:

    Charles
    My point exactly! Never enough of anything related to woodworking.

  8. Monte West says:

    Charles:
    The last time we saw anything that you were doing was last week.
    The next thing we see, is a new DVD. Where are you?
    Did cleaning and sweeping the floor make you so tired you had to take a vacation?
    The chisels look great and I hope Big A will like them.
    I though I was in a Paint store from what I could see in that last picture. No, wonder your Dear Wife was all over your case.
    I hope this DVD is as good as last ones.

  9. charles neil says:

    Monte..I been right here , wrapping up the door drawer DVD , as to the paint store thing…well ..what can I say..except over the years I have accumulated some stuff..and besides i have finishing classes and all..so i guess it does look like a paint store..but its not..alot of it I got when i was doing the finishing DVD..as to the DVD ..I think you will like it

Leave a Reply

